fbpx Awards | Page 6 | Balipara Foundation


Shri. S. Ramadorai delivers the Fourth Rabindranath Barthakur Memorial Lecture 2016

Balipara Foundation Awards 2016 - Fourth Rabindranath Barthakur Memorial Lecture delivered by Shri. S. Ramadorai, Chairman of National Skill Development Agency & the National Skill Development Corporation.

A unique confluence of music, song & recital by Shri. Pandit Hariprasad Chaurasia, Shri. S.Ramadoria & Smt. Mala Ramadorai

Case Study: B. M. KHAITAN

Mr. R.S. Jhawar (Williamson Magor) receiving the Lifetime Service Award on behalf of Mr. Brij Mohan Khaitan from The Honorable Chief Secretary to Government of Assam -2015

Brij Mohan Khaitan, also known as B. M. Khaitan, is the founder of the B. M. Khaitan Group. He heads McLeod Russel, the world’s largest tea company, and is known for his involvement in philanthropic activities for the welfare of community and wildlife. Mr. Khaitan is an eminent Industrialist and owns the Eveready Industries India, Ltd (EIIL). He is also involved in the manufacture of various metal and chemical products. Mr. Khaitan is also called as the ‘Evergreen Team Man of India’ within the Tea Industry.


DASHO PALJOR J. DORJI Recipient of Lifetime Achievement Awards, 2014 - Bhutan

Called as the Godfather of Conservation in Bhutan, Dasho Paljor J. Dorji has had a distinguished career with the Royal Government of Bhutan, serving three kings in the capacity of Magistrate of Paro District 1969-1972, High Court Judge 1972-1974, acting Chief Justice of Bhutan 1974-1985, Chief Justice of Bhutan 1985-1987, Deputy Minister for Social Services 1988-1991, Ambassador to the United Nations and European capitals 1991-1994, Deputy Minister to the National Environment Commission 1994-1997.


ANNE WRIGHT Recipient of Lifetime Service Awards, 2013 - Assam & North Bengal

Anne Wright was born the daughter of British ICS Ocer and she spent her childhood in the forests of Central India. She is also the founder trustee of World Wildlife fund for Nature – India, which she helped setup in the late 1960s. She was appointed by the late Prime Minister Indira Gandhi as a member of the Tiger Task Force for Project Tiger in 1970. She then served for 19 years on the Indian Board for Wildlife and was closely involved with the passing of the Wildlife Protection Act.


SONTUSH A. SANGMA Recipient of Special Forest Guard Awards, 2015 - Meghalaya

Sontush has contributed towards Indian Wildlife by being at its service for more than 30 years, tirelessly working in the Garo Hills of Meghalaya. Sontush has a very inspiring career and life graph, that includes joining the Meghalaya Forest Department in 1985 as a muster roll employee, and then as a Forest Guard of Gateman Rank in the Balpakram Division, Garo Hills.


 RAJEN PANIKA Recipient of Special Forest Guard Awards, 2015 - Assam

Rajen joined the Forest Department of Kaziranga National Park in December,1992 and since then he has dedicatedly and tirelessly worked towards protecting and conserving the forests and its wildlife. His alert and intuitive presence of mind has helped save several rhinos from being poached. Today, Rajen serves as a Forest Guard in Kaziranga, and he has contributed signicantly in the conservation of the Indian Rhinoceros.


AMAR SING DEKA Recipient of Special Forest Guard Awards, 2015 - Assam

Amar sing has dedicated more than 25 years of forest service in Kaziranga Tiger Reserve. Known for his fearless attitude and nature, Amar joined as a Home Guard in Kaziranga National Park in the late 1990s. During the same time, he was also fatally attacked by a Wild Bualo while on duty. After recovering from the accident, Amar joined the department as a worker on protection duty to combat poaching activities inside the Park.


Back to Top

For the latest in the Eastern Himalayas

Latest Event